Serenade for Horn and String Quartet


Click the links below to see excerpts:

 1. Allegro          2. Adagio         3. Landler     4. Finale     


ISMN 979-0-720073-13-2

Duration: approximately 21 minutes

Score: 50.00 AUD. Parts: 60 AUD

This music was first composed as Sonata for Horn and Pianoforte. No date for that is known and, except for a sketch of the first page, the work has not been found. There was, however, a performance in 1951. Hill later made an adaptation, Serenade for Horn and String Orchestra, the score of which is also undated. In a programme note for a performance by Hector McDonald and the Australian Chamber Orchestra in 1988 it was, however, reported that the work was written in 1947 and dedicated to Alan Mann, the principal hornist in the Sydney Symphony Orchestra at the time as well as a teacher at the Sydney Conservatorium of Music. This version with string quartet makes the work available to yet other performing medium.

Stiles Music Publications