Sonata No.1 for Flute and Pianoforte

Click the links below to see excerpts:

 1. Allegro            2. Adagio molto espressivo               3. Finale


ISMN 979-0-720073-29-3

Duration: approximately 16 minutes

Piano score and flute  part: 50.00 AUD

In the catalogue of Alfred Hill’s music, this work has the identifier SoA1.

This sonata was originally composed in 1906 in Wellington, New Zealand, as Sonata No.2 in A Minor for Violin and Pianoforte ( So2). It is not known when Hill made the adaptation for flute but other versions for oboe and clarinet are dated 1955. From characteristics of the handwriting this flute version was probably also made in the 1950s. Hill also adapted Sonata No.3 in A Minor for Violin and Pianoforte ( So3) to create Sonata [No.2] in A Minor for Flute and Pianoforte ( SoA2). Since both the flute sonatas are in the same key, to avoid the suggestion that there were more than two they have been numbered in the publications, although those numbers are different from those of the original violin sonatas.

Stiles Music Publications