Symphony in A Minor

for String Orchestra

Click the links below to see the excerpts:

1. Adagio, Allegro

2. Andantino

3. Scherzo

4. Finale


ISMN 979-0-720073-25-5

Duration: approximately 20 minutes.

Score: 60.00 AUD.

Parts are available for hire. Please enquire.

In the catalogue of Alfred Hill’s music, this has the identifier SyAm.

Sometime in the 1950s Hill reworked String Quartet No.9 composed in 1935 to create Symphony in A Minor for String Orchestra ( SQ9), the score for which is undated. Andrew McCredie called this Symphony No.13 but there is no evidence for such a chronological placement. He had already published numbers for twelve symphonies before this one was located in the archive of the Australian Broadcasting Commission’s music library and had no alternative but to so number it. (It had been catalogued there as Serenade in A Minor, a title at the head of the music but not on the cover). It now seems appropriate to only use the name given by Hill, Symphony in A Minor for String Orchestra. The symphony is not merely the addition of a double bass part to the quartet but a thorough reworking.

Stiles Music Publications